top of page
  • Writer's pictureSenthil

Adventure in Asia Summary

So for my first blog post I want to share 3 things - the purpose of my trip, a rough schedule, and my plans for afterwards.

I travel to see what the world is like outside of what I know and have experienced. To see a new culture and perspective, meet new people, see a different way of life. A great part of traveling is all the unique stories you hear from across the world as well as the ones you create for yourself. I am a very curious person and visiting places I haven't been before is one of my favorite things to do to satisfy that craving. Not having any idea what tomorrow will bring is such an exciting feeling that I can never get enough of. And it's hard to get that when you fall into a rhythm in your life and the days start to fly by. So I wanted to break out of that routine for a little while, make some good memories, and create a story in my life that I want to hear!

Currently my general plan for this trip is about 3 months and staying in each country for roughly 1 month. I'm starting in Japan, then traveling to Korea, and then ending in Taiwan. I was originally going to go to China as my 3rd country, but had intended on entering through Hong Kong and getting a visa to China once I was there. But since there's a lot of politics going on that I don't want to get mixed up in i'm planning on going to Taiwan for now and seeing China some other day. Other than that, the reasons I chose those countries is simply because I hear a lot of good things about them and they are popular destinations that are very different from the places i've been to so far in my life. I want to travel somewhere that stands out in contrast from the western culture i've grown up in, so East Asia was as good a place as any to get that diversity. It would also allow me to travel a lot cheaper than a similar trip to Europe would, so my money would take me a lot farther.

As for what i'm doing after my 3 months, that's a lot less certain. If I still have money left in my budget and the desire to keep traveling, then I might extend my trip and explore other countries in the area. I'm also thinking about stopping by India on my way home to visit relatives I haven't seen in a long time. But whenever I finally do make it back to North America, I want to try switching careers and find a job as a software engineer in a big city somewhere. These past 2 years I've found myself often enjoying the programming and scripts I make on the side more than the main tasks I'm actually working on, so figured that was a good indicator I would like a software engineering job more than a traditional engineering one. And having grown up in suburbs and lived in small towns up until now, I've always wanted to live in a city for a while and experience metropolitan life. All of that is to be determined at a much later date though, after i'm done traveling and satisfied with my adventure. For now i'm focused on just enjoying the journey!

105 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Balboa Park Portrait.jpg
About Me

This site is meant to be a simple blog that I make small posts on every once in a while just to let anyone who is interested know a little bit about where I am and what i'm doing... 

Read More

 

Join My Mailing List

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page