top of page
  • Writer's pictureSenthil

Taiwan and some updates

Updated: Feb 13, 2020

Well it's been a pretty busy month meeting up with college friends and Connecticut friends while traveling around Taiwan. It was quite a change going from solo travel to group travel. I enjoyed not having to plan everything I'm going to be doing and instead letting other people decide the kind of trip they wanted to have in Taiwan and then join them for part of it. It's interesting seeing other people's travel styles and how that effects the experience you have. Something as simple as how much you walk versus how much you use transportation can change everything quite a bit. And that's before even considering the type of transportation you take, whether it's the metro, bus, taxi, or personal car. Each has their pros and cons and the one you choose shows what you prioritize in traveling and what you're willing to sacrifice. Personally I've always enjoyed walking wherever possible and talking public transportation to really get a feel for the area despite the added time that it often takes when compared to driving or taxis. But it was nice to have those for a bit and see how it can make everything so much more convenient, free you from following a set schedule based on when buses/trains run, and create more of an independent personalized experience of a place.


Now I have a bit of an interesting update though. After my friends left Taiwan I decided to head to a monastery and volunteer there for a bit. I just started a few days ago so am still pretty new here but it's been interesting being around such a different lifestyle and observing their practices. I don't plan on becoming a monk or anything, but I do enjoy learning about them and also meeting the other volunteers that came here from around the world. So I plan on staying here for a few weeks and then I'll probably go to India for a bit before heading home to look for a job. It's weird to think that I've been traveling for 3 months already and that in another month or two I'll be back home again!


Also I have one final note, I think this will probably be my last post for a while. It was a fun project to try out for a bit but I think I've pretty much gotten out of it everything I'm going to get for now. It's starting to be more of a chore and I don't really have the desire to continue blogging anymore. Maybe if something really out of the ordinary happens or I suddenly get inspiration to write again I'll make another post, but for now this is it. I definitely appreciate everyone who supported me and read these posts though! I hope you got out of it whatever you came here looking for. And although I won't be making posts here anymore feel free to reach out if you want an update on what I've been up to!


(Click on the arrows to scroll for more photos 🙂):


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Balboa Park Portrait.jpg
About Me

This site is meant to be a simple blog that I make small posts on every once in a while just to let anyone who is interested know a little bit about where I am and what i'm doing... 

Read More

 

Join My Mailing List

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page