top of page
  • Writer's pictureSenthil

First week, Tokyo

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

My first week in Tokyo is about done and it's been great! I've done a lot of the major things around the city like walking around the dozens of parks and Japanese gardens everywhere, visiting shrines, browsing the shopping malls and upscale streets, petting owls in a cafe, checking out the anime district, and making friends with the tour guide in a poop museum.


There is also so much good food everywhere it's amazing! Been eating too much and have to restrain myself otherwise I'm going to break my budget haha.


As for where I've been staying, the first place I stayed in was a hostel that you get to by going through a pizza restaurant. It was in Ueno, which I found out apparently is considered dirty and kind of ghetto, but I thought it was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in and really liked the area around it lol. In fact I was thinking I could see myself living there because it has so much to offer!


The next place I stayed at was actually through CouchSurfing for my first time! My host was an hour train ride outside the center of Tokyo, and I discovered just how crammed the trains can get on my way there during peak rush hour. But it was definitely worth it to get the chance to meet a local and see what it would be like to live in Japan. I really enjoyed meeting my host and talking with him about his life and what he likes to do in the area. It was also great to have him show me around his town and take me to a restaurant where he knew everyone in there from the other diners to the owner. Would highly recommend CouchSurfing if you ever get the chance!


The last place I stayed in so far was a capsule hotel. I really like the concept and thought the place I stayed in had a lot of potential, but it was kind of rundown and overpriced. Granted, I did pick the cheapest capsule hotel I could find, but it was still 3 times more expensive than my hostel, not as clean, had less amenities, the doors on the pods could be seen through when the light was on, and my door had pieces broken off too. Overall I think it's still a great idea and I'm sure I would've liked it a lot more if I went to a nicer place, but I don't think it's worth the price and still prefer hostels.


My time in Tokyo is wrapping up soon and I plan on visiting Hokkaido next. I plan on enjoying the Japanese countryside while I'm there!


(Click on the arrows to scroll for more photos 🙂)


77 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Balboa Park Portrait.jpg
About Me

This site is meant to be a simple blog that I make small posts on every once in a while just to let anyone who is interested know a little bit about where I am and what i'm doing... 

Read More

 

Join My Mailing List

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page